Sun. Nov 27th, 2022

Brussels, 27 April 2022

The representatives of the governments of the member states today appointed nine judges of the General Court.

The following judges have been reappointed for a further term of office:

  • Mr Geert De Baere and Mr Paul Nihoul (Belgium)
  • Mr Sten Frimodt Nielsen and Mr Jesper Svenningsen (Denmark)
  • Mr Krisztián Kecsmár (Hungary)
  • Mr Marc van der Woude (Netherlands)
  • Ms Maria José Costeira and Mr Ricardo da Silva Passos (Portugal)

In addition, Mr Goulielmos Valasidis (Greece) has been appointed as a judge of the General Court.

The nine judges have been appointed for the period from 1 September 2022 to 31 August 2028.


The Court of Justice of the European Union consists of two courts: the Court of Justice and the General Court.

The judges and advocates-general are appointed by common accord of the governments of the member states after consultation of a panel responsible for giving an opinion on prospective candidates’ suitability to perform the duties concerned.

They are chosen from among individuals whose independence is beyond doubt. For appointment to the Court of Justice, candidates must possess the qualifications required for appointment, in their respective countries, to the highest judicial offices, or be jurisconsults of recognised competence. For appointment to the General Court, they must possess the ability required for appointment to high judicial office.

Source – EU Council

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner