Sun. Jun 26th, 2022

1 June 2022

The Commission today updated the current EU Air Safety List, which is the list of airlines that are subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union because they do not meet international safety standards.

Following today’s update, one additional Russian certified airline, “I Fly”, has been added to the EU Air Safety List. Today’s EU Air Safety Committee’s decision is in continuity with the previous addition of 20 Russian certified airlines in April, which had knowingly allowed flights without valid certificates of airworthiness. Doing so is in breach of international aviation safety standards.

As of today, 22 Russian certified airlines are on this list. Commissioner for Transport Adina Vălean said: Following the decision taken in April to include 20 Russian airlines that operated foreign-owned aircraft without a valid Certificate of Airworthiness, another airline was put on the EU Air Safety List today. The Commission closely monitors all Russian airlines that have foreign-owned aircraft without a valid certificate of airworthiness in their fleet, added illegally by Russia to its Register. As I already mentioned in April, I want to underline that this decision is not another sanction against Russia; it has been taken solely based on technical and safety grounds.” 

Taking into account today’s update, a total of 118 airlines are banned from EU skies. You can find more information here.

Source – EU Commission