Fri. Jan 27th, 2023

The Russian presidential decree adding most of Crimea and Sevastopol to the list of border territories of the Russian Federation in which non-Russian citizens are prevented from owning land, has come into force on 20 March 2021, a year after its adoption.

The European Union does not recognise the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula by Russia, which is a clear violation of international law. Therefore, the European Union does not recognise this decree and considers its entry into force as yet another attempt to forcibly integrate the illegally-annexed peninsula into Russia. Crimea is part of Ukraine. The decree is also a violation of international humanitarian law, as it is another step towards the imposition of Russian citizenship on the peninsula. This has led to the arbitrary deprivation of property.

The European Union calls on Russia to stop all violations of international law on the Crimean peninsula. The European Union is unwavering in its support for Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders, and welcomes Ukraine’s diplomatic efforts to this end. The European Union will continue to enforce its non-recognition policy of the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula, including through restrictive measures.

Source: Ukraine: Statement by the Spokesperson on the Russian land ownership decree affecting Crimea

Forward to your friends
GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner